The collection of Design museum Gent contains approximately 22,000 objects and has its origins in a ‘model museum’ founded by an association of industrials and artists in 1903. The oldest part of the collection, which consists mainly of eighteenth-century French style furniture, was largely formed between 1903 and 1930. The majority of the collection was established from the mid-1970s, including major Art Nouveau, Art Deco and Italian postmodernism sub-collections. It combines work of Belgian designers including Emiel Veranneman, Piet Stockmans and Maarten Van Severen with international names such as Philippe Starck, Ron Arad and Alessi.

Collectie 1

The collection of Design museum Gent is accessible via www.erfgoedinzicht.be (in Dutch).

We limit the digitisation to a selection of objects for which the basic registration is already in order. We are working on an overview of all sub-collections, which will be part of our new website in 2018.

For specific questions regarding the collection, please contact our collection manager annelies.demey@stad.gent.

Collectie 3

Collection care

Caring for the collection is one of the most important tasks of a museum. Museum objects suffer from old (usage) damage, microclimate variations, dust and - yes - visitors. As soon as an object is acquired by the museum, its stops being a utensil and becomes a museum piece that needs to be cared for and respected as such.

The Collection department has a wood restorer who is responsible for taking care of the whole collection. We regularly call on experts from the KIK-IRPA and specialised external restorers for textiles, leather, metal and so on.

Huib Hoste

Huib Hoste's foldable partition wall in steel with leaded glass panels has been damaged by overpainting, corrosion and wear of the chromium layer. Some hinges were once replaced by disfiguring new ones.

0812 Voor Restauratie

Damage from use, improper gluing and microclimate variations is clearly visible on this leather back of a chair designed by Paul Hankar (inv. 820).

86 38 1 6 F1

To make a condition report, all damage is marked in a picture. This picture concerns a tray of Gustave Serrurier-Bovy (inv. 86/38 1/6).

The collection on the road

Design museum Gent has a rich and diverse collection of designs, which it gladly makes available to (cultural heritage) institutions at home and abroad. The museum views short and long-term loans as an appropriate way to valorise its collection and to stimulate research into design. If you have questions in this regard please visit the loans page.

Interested in where we have loans at the moment? Listed below are the exhibitions where our collection are on display.

Design museum Gent était à l’origine un « musée de modèles » qui fut fondé par un groupe d’artistes et d’industriels en 1903. La partie historique de sa collection est principalement constituée de mobilier français datant du XVIIIe siècle et dont l’acquisition eu lieu avant 1930. De plus, le musée possède des sous-collections contenant des pièces d’Art nouveau, d’Art déco et de postmodernisme italien qui rejoignirent le musée à partir du milieu des années 1970. On y retrouve les travaux de designers belges comme Emiel Veranneman, Piet Stockmans et Maarten Van Severen mais aussi des designers internationaux comme Philippe Starck, Ron Arad et Alessi. Au total, Design museum Gent possède près de 22 000 œuvres.

Collectie 1

Notre collection est accessible à l’adresse suivante www.erfgoedinzicht.be (disponible uniquement en néerlandais). 

Nous ne numérisons qu’une sélection d’objets pour lesquels l'enregistrement de base a déjà été effectuée. Nous travaillons également sur la création d'un aperçu de toutes nos sous-collections. Cela fera partie de notre nouveau site internet qui sera lancé en 2018.

En cas de demandes concernant notre collection, vous pouvez contacter la responsable de la collection à l’adresse suivante : annelies.demey@stad.gent

Collectie 3

Conservation des œuvres

La conservation des œuvres est l’un des objectifs principaux d’un musée. Nos pièces se détériorent sous l’effet du temps, des variations infimes de l’air ambiant, de la poussière et même des visiteurs. Lorsqu’un objet est acquis par le musée, il n'est plus un objet comme un autre : il devient une œuvre qui nécessite un soin tout particulier.

Le Service des collections du musée peut compter sur les compétences d'un restaurateur spécialisé dans le domaine du bois et qui est responsable de l’entretien de l’ensemble de la collection. Nous faisons également régulièrement appel aux spécialistes du KIK-IRPA (Institut royal du Patrimoine artistique) ainsi qu’à des restaurateurs en textile, cuir, métal, etc.

Huib Hoste

La cloison pliante en acier et en verre au plomb conçue par Huib Hoste a subi des dommages dû à : un excès de peinture, à la corrosion ainsi qu’à l’usure de la couche de chrome. Quelques gonds ont été remplacé par de nouveaux qui avaient été déformés au préalable.

0812 Voor Restauratie

Ici, des dommages sur le dossier en cuir de cette chaise conçue par Paul Hankar (inv. 820) ont été causés par l'usure, un mauvais collage ainsi que de petites variations de l’air ambiant.

86 38 1 6 F1

Les dommages sont signalés sur une photo afin d’être traités par la suite. Ce cliché montre un plateau de Gustave Serrurier-Bovy (inv. 86/38 1/6).

Les prêts de collection

Design museum Gent possède une importante collection d’objets variés que nous sommes disposés à prêter à d’autres institutions culturelles, qu'elles soient belges ou étrangères. Ces prêts sont tous des opportunités qui permettent de valoriser notre collection ainsi que de développer les recherches dans le domaine du design. Pour plus de détails, vous pouvez consulter la page consacrée aux prêts.

Vous êtes curieux de savoir à quelles institutions nous prêtons nos œuvres ? La carte ci-dessous indique les lieux où des pièces de notre collection sont actuellement exposées.